About Us

Homework center

Our Mission

To empower individuals and communities by providing opportunities for all to read, learn, create and connect.

Our Vision

We envision a thriving and inclusive Cuyahoga County where all residents benefit from and are inspired by Cuyahoga County Public Library’s innovative resources, services, and programs.

In 1921, the State Legislature of Ohio passed a law which enabled the establishment of a county district library for any area not served by a free public library, subject to a vote of the people. As residents began moving into outlying areas of Cuyahoga County and the need for library services to these residents became more evident, a referendum was placed on the November 7, 1922, general election ballot authorizing a county library district. The issue passed by more than two to one, making Cuyahoga County Public Library (CCPL) the first county library in Ohio to be organized under the new law.

CCPL is a separate political subdivision governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees authorized by the State of Ohio to establish policies and an annual budget. Board members represent the citizens’ interests while promoting the highest level of library service to the community, in accordance with state law. Trustees are appointed for seven-year terms by Cuyahoga County government and the Court of Common Pleas, and they serve without remuneration. The CCPL Board of Trustees has no taxing authority and must have Cuyahoga County government place ballot issues before voters in the 47 communities served by CCPL.

Board Officers

  • Dean E. DePiero


    Mr. DePiero has served as Of Counsel for McDonald Hopkins since 2005 and is currently the Law Director for the City of Aurora and Assistant Law Director/Prosecutor for Broadview Heights. Mr. DePiero had also served as the Mayor of Parma and as an Ohio State Representative. He was appointed by the Cuyahoga County Executive with confirmation by the Cuyahoga County Council; his term expires in January 2024.

  • Allyn A. Davies

    Vice President

    Ms. Davies is the Co-Owner of The Merrymeeting Group. She also serves on the Cuyahoga County Library Foundation Board and Cleveland Central Catholic High School Advisory Board. She was appointed by the Cuyahoga County Executive with confirmation by the Cuyahoga County Council. Her term expires in March 2029.

  • Maria L. Spangler


    Ms. Spangler is the Community Engagement Manager for The Sherwin-Williams Company. She was appointed by the Court of Common Pleas. Her term expires October 2024.